August to December 2014
Click here to download a printable pdf of the program.
We maintain a full programme of visits and lectures throughout the year. Members receive an annual events calendar and specific event information with booking forms through our regular mailings.
Members may bring guests to unrestricted events and non members are always welcome at lectures.
Please note booking is required for all tours, visits and special events, unless otherwise stated, as numbers may be restricted. Please see the UAHS Cancellation Policy for further information.
For lectures you can pay at the door.
Dates may be subject to alteration.
2014 Programme of Events
Saturday 14th June
A visit to Co. Louth
A visit to Collon. An opportunity to admire the successful restoration of an 18th century house, to consider the challenge of finding a new use for an architecturally and historically important church which is currently at risk. Closing date for applications 29 May. Cost, including morning tea/coffee and lunch at Collon House is £45
Sunday 15th June
A Ramble through Rathlin.
Make it a Fathers Day Treat
Rathlin possesses some of the most breath-taking scenery anywhere in Ireland or Britain. It offers unspoilt enviroments and is renowned for its wildlife, particularly its seabird breeding colonies
Cost of the event, which includes the return ferry and a guided tour is £25 for adults, £5 for children over 5yrs, children under 5 go free.
Friday 27th June
5th Edition Launch & Seminar
Duncain Culture and Arts Centre, Belfast at 10am
Invite, agenda and booking form can be found here
Home & Dry in Belfast
Saturday July 26th
The Wilson family invites members of UAHS, accompained by children under 11yrs to join them fo a Teddy Bears picnic and an afternoon of fun. There will be a treasure hunt, races, an opportunity to play in a tree house as well as tours of Marlacoo House. A picnic tea will be provided. Cost of the event is £10 for adults and £5 per child (aged 3-9)
Saturday July 26th
The architect of the Origami House, Jane Burnside, said that she designed the house to look like a clachan of cottages in a rural landscape. We will have the pleasure of being shown round the house by Jane as well as a tour of the garden. The tour starts at 11am and finishes at 12.30pm We will reassemble at 2.45 at the Abbey. Portglenone House was originally the residence of the Church of Ireland Bishop, Dr Alexander. The Cistercian Order aquired the house in 1948. In 1972 a new church and monastry more suited to the modest, enclosed and penitential nature of the Cistercian monastic life was completed. The buildings have won several architectural awards, there will be a tour of the buildings guided by one of the Brothers and an opportunity to learn a little about life in Ulster's only Trappist Monastry.
The cost of this event is £18 per person
Saturday 23rd August
(Please note this change of Date from that published in the printed program)
The tour starts at St Ronan’s Church, Colebrooke, a fine steepled church with strong historic links to the local Brooke family. From here we travel to the nearby Irish Landmark Trust’s ‘Triumphal Arch Lodge’. The gate lodge and Triumphal Arch entrance were designed by William Farrell in 1819 to complement Colebrooke. Now restored to its former glory, this little gem is let out as holiday accommodation. Our final visit is to the stunning former Church of Ireland church at Tattykeeran.
The church itself has been carefully restored by architect Nathan Armstrong to provide airy living space. His design for the adjoining “sleeping wing” gives the impression of a “contemporary barn” completely at ease in its rural landscape. In 2012 it was recognised as an exceptional building when it was runner–up in the ‘BBC NI House of the Year’ programme.
Morning coffee and afternoon tea will be provided, but members are asked to bring their own packed lunches. Please bring suitable clothing and footwear. The visit will end at around 4:00pm.
The cost of the outing will be £20. Applications are for members only and are limited to forty on a ‘first come first served’ basis.
Saturday 13th September
Pop-up 'Buildings at Risk' exhibition at the Titanic Drawing Offices
'The art of the possible' - Titanic Drawing Offices
A ‘pop-up’ exhibition by the Ulster Architectural Heritage Society showcasing 20 of the best practice ‘Buildings at Risk’ success stories. The display promotes the potential of our vacant and most vulnerable historic buildings, highlighting the ‘art of the possible’ in the historic Titanic Drawing Offices which have been vacant and on the ‘at risk’ register for ten years. The event is in collaboration with the Titanic Foundation who will be on hand to answer any questions about the restoration and reuse plans for the buildings. Artist Julie Douglas will also be highlighting the potential of the area through a Titanic drawing trail including the Drawing Offices. The event draws on both art and heritage to actively promote positive public interest in our historic buildings. Accompanying the pop-up exhibition will be fact sheets on the historic buildings and a kid’s quiz. There will also be a short talk at 1.30pm by the UAHS Heritage Projects Officer on the historic Harland and Wolff Drawing Offices and the opportunity to find out more about the future plans for the unique spaces. Come along and see how our vacant historic buildings can be used in the short and long term, securing their future and bringing them back to life.
*Event in collaboration with Titanic Foundation Ltd. and Julie Douglas- EHOD Titanic Drawing Trail
Location: The Titanic Drawing Offices are the grey stone twin buildings located directly beside the Titanic Belfast Visitor Attraction in the Titanic Quarter.
Time: 11-4pm on Saturday 13th September only
*This free event is part of the European Heritage Open Days (EHOD) province wide programme taking place on the 14th and 15th June 2014. More information can be found in the EHOD Brochures available in various public venues and also online through Discover Northern Ireland and other related websites.
Sunday 21st September
A visit to Co. Down
We start our visit at Burrenwood near Castlewellan. After the Restoration Charles II granted to Alderman Richard Hawkins of London an extensive manor, which included not only what became the town of Rathfriland but also the property at what became known as Wood House, now Burrenwood. The manor in time passed to Miss Theodosia Magill, first Countess of Clanwilliam (died 1817), and from her to her son General Robert Meade. Probably soon after 1783 a small house was built, to be a stopping place on the road from Gill Hall, the Clanwilliam principal County Down property near Dromore, to Dublin. General Meade retired from the Army in 1817, and that was possibly when the house was extended to become the cottage orné we see today. Seldom used by the Meade family after the mid-1970s, and becoming more run-down by the year, the property was bought a few years ago by its present owners, who have spent a great deal of time and effort in tackling its restoration. While the house, the grounds and the woodland have already been transformed from what they were 10 or 20 years ago, the Society is privileged to be granted the present visit, which will be in the nature of an interim one, to view progress: for example, the roof is still one of corrugated iron, its replacement by thatch awaiting availability of the correct reed and a suitable season of thatching weather.
We then proceed to Castlewellan Forest where we will view recent work to The Grange, the rebuilt glasshouses and hopefully the interior of the castle itself – a rare opportunity.
Our final visit will be to Tyrella House which is something of an enigma as regards its history. In 1783 the property was the seat of George Hamilton Esq; but by 1847 the property was owned by Arthur Hill Montgomery Esq., younger brother of William Montgomery Esq., of Grey Abbey. Remarkably little seems to be known or to have been written about Tyrella. But, with its handsome columned porch and tall, late-18th century windows, the house is a comfortable, roomy, family one of character with, beyond the Tyrella beach, Dundrum Bay and the Mountains of Mourne. As well as viewing the house we will be able to explore the recently restored glasshouse, the Japanese Water Garden and the Sham Fort. Afternoon tea will be served
Thursday 9th October
Lecture by Professor Michael Tooley DSc, FSA
‘Miss Jekyll and Mr Lutyens; Bumps and Nedi:
an exploration of a remarkable partnership.
The Ulster Museum, Belfast Thursday 9th October 2014 at 12.30pm
Miss Gertrude Jekyll (1843-1932) was the greatest artist in horticulture and garden planting and Sir Edwin
Lutyens (1869-1944) the greatest English architect of his age. Their collaboration was unique and spanned
the period from 1889 until Miss Jekyll’s death in 1932, but their influence on the design of buildings and
gardens has resonated for over a hundred years and shows no sign of abating in the 21st century. They
established the basic values, shared with the Arts and Crafts Movement, of the use of simple materials and
of sound craftsmanship and added the harmony of colour and of house with garden and landscape.
Michael Tooley is Professor of Geography at the University of St. Andrews and Professor Emeritus
at Kingston University
Lecture fee: £5 / Students £2 payable at the door
Friday 17th October
Architectural Pub Tour for young UAHS, Belfast
Friday 7th November
Lecture by Dr Nicola Gordon Bowe
‘Dreams long hoarded; The Arts and Crafts Society of Ireland’
The Crescent Arts Centre, University Road, Belfast, at 7.30pm
The Arts and Crafts movement at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries originated in England but its manifestation in Ireland was seminal to the development of progressive decorative arts and the search for cultural identity in early 20th century Ireland. Fuelled by 19th century antiquarian discoveries, literary sources, and aspirations to stimulate and give remunerative employment to ailing native industries, the Irish movement represented a growing awareness of the need to preserve the relics of what was perceived as a heroic time.
This richly illustrated lecture will trace how the movement evolved from philanthropically instigated amateur beginnings to professional, often original individual endeavour and found modern expression through study of the past. It will show how practitioners supported the fundamentally Arts and Crafts ideology that materials and form should be intrinsically connected, and how the movement brought together architects, artists, craftsmen and women and designers in a range of media.
Many of those who exhibited with the Arts and Crafts Society of Ireland between 1895 and 1925 were instrumental in providing a rich visual vocabulary of design and technical skill which not only represented the emerging nation but inspired successive generations of those seeking expression in the applied arts.
Dr. Nicola Gordon Bowe, Associate Fellow, Faculty of Visual Culture, NCAD (NUI); Visiting Professor, Research Institute, School of Art & Design, University of Ulster; Honorary Research Fellow, University of Wales; Honorary Fellow, British Society of Master Glass Painters, has lectured, advised, curated exhibitions and published extensively internationally on 19th century, 20th century and contemporary art, design and the applied and decorative arts.
Thursday 13th November
Lecture by Colin Kerr
‘Conformity or Revolution? Model churches of the eighteenth and nineteenth century’
Clifton House, Belfast at 7.30pm
St George’s Church Hanover Square is a Model Church of 1711 and All Saints Church Margaret Street, a Model Church of the Ecclesiologists. They are neighbours in central London. Both have been influential throughout the English speaking world. The story underlying the buildings brings together theology, politics, religion, and architecture. The Hanover Square Church was the result of an Act of Parliament, in a society much exercised by the idea of conformity. All Saints was the result of a movement originated by undergraduates.
Both buildings are exceptional in their planning, architecture and use of materials and both are now presented afresh, the amazing All Saints restored to Butterfield’s schemes of decoration.
Colin Kerr left Belfast to study architecture at Manchester University and on completion returned to Belfast and worked with Robert McKinstry, (The Grand Opera House). He went to London for one year but stayed, working from 1984 to 1988 with English Heritage and since as a partner in Molyneux Kerr Architects, a practice which deals with many listed buildings. Since 2006 he has been Surveyor of the Fabric to Chichester Cathedral
The cost of the event, which includes a glass of wine, is £10. This event is open to non-members
Saturday 6th December
UAHS Festive Open House